This is Halloween

I have to admit, Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays. Since the time I was a young lad, I loved dressing up and going trick-or-treating. The candy was never a big deal to me, honestly. (Unless I got a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. In which case it became a big deal.)

I don’t recall exactly what I dressed up as. Except this one year I do remember being an M&M. Wish I had a picture of that one.

So speaking of Halloween, ad agencies will play off any and every holiday that comes around, mainly because great ideas are hard to come by. So they’ll take any help they can get from holidays made up by Hallmark.

Here are five of my favorite ads that play off Halloween in one way or another.

1. Snickers

Like all things Halloween, this ad is pretty creepy, but in a good way. But the more I look at it, the more creeped out I get. So I’m just going to move on now.

2. San Francisco Zoo

I did not know koalas could be so scary. In fact, the longer I look at this ad, the more scared I get. So I’m just going to move on now.

3. Woolite

All I can think about when I see this ad is Harry Potter, so I’m a fan. But really, it is quite clever. Question, though: Shouldn’t we still be able to see the witches’ faces? Perhaps they’re wearing big black socks over them? Because that would make a lot of sense . . . not.

4. McDonald’s

You can hate on McDonald’s food all you want (I rather enjoy it . . . no, really), but you have to hand it to them when it comes to their advertising. They rarely make bad decisions, and like this ad, their print ads try to be as clean and simple as possible. I can’t think of one thing wrong with it.

5. Universal Studios Theme Park

Well sign me up for this ride! Anyone who enjoys getting scared (ME!) is going to totally dig this. The only thing more frightening than seeing Freddy Krueger onscreen is seeing him in real life. Sign me up.

Your turn: Do you have a favorite of the five? Or is there one that you think is totally awful and you’re saying to yourself, How could anyone like this? 

Do tell.

One thought on “This is Halloween

  1. I’m not a fan of the McDonalds one because the dripping ketchup makes me think of blood…maybe it’s supposed to, but it’s pretty disturbing.

Leave a Reply

