Can’t Touch This

Spread the word. And the germs. Stephen Soderbergh’s latest film, “Contagion,” has been both a critical and commercial success, thanks to the millions of people who wanted to be reminded that coughing and sneezing are really gross when you actually sit down and think about it. Not to mention this feeling is made a thousand times worse when you’re sitting in a movie theater. (I mean, really, who knows what’s all over the seats you’re sitting on.)

Regardless, Warner Brother’s put together a pretty brilliant ad manuever, making several billboards out of bacteria to advertise the film. According to The A.V. Club, WB hired a Toronto-based ad agency to put together the fungi-engulfed advertisements.

"IT'S ALIIIIIIIIIVE!"

Can you imagine passing this billboard on the sidewalk? I’m not sure your first reaction would be “I MUST GO SEE THIS. AND NOW!” But at least it has people talking. Which is precisely what WB was shooting for.

I’ve heard a lot about people seeing the film and consequently being paranoid for days whenever they see someone cough. I’m not sure I’d want to put myself through such torture.

However, the poster for the film does have me intrigued. They say that’s supposed to be Gwyneth Paltrow on the front, but I’m not so convinced. It looks a bit more like a mix between a jaundiced monkey and a repugnant Tilda Swinton.

Gwyneth, clearly in need of some sleep. And maybe some makeup.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go wash my hands.

2 thoughts on “Can’t Touch This

  1. glizrogers says:

    I’m going to get sick just from reading about this… nice review!

  2. LisaBrown says:

    Nice ending! And good job keeping it interesting and funny.

Leave a Reply

